non citizen chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zest

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone
I'am desperately looking for some positive information regarding the admission of foreign students to med school here . I have finished my 1st year of pre med here and I'am hoping to make it to some school . But the chances look very bleak!!!! Any help?????

Members don't see this ad.

zest, welcome to SDN.

I don't really know about admissions... I think what really sucks is that foreign students can't get the same financial aid help that citizens receive. The med school that I will be going to next year told me that if I was a foreign student, I would have to show that I currently have the money for tuition for the next four years - something like $120,000 up front!

Members don't see this ad :)
That's not necessarily true. There are schools out there which ask for money upfront and there are schools which will ask you to pay for only one year at a time.
I do not think it is fare to ask for a full 4-year tuition. If this rule applied not only to international students but to everyone else, there won't be any doctors in US. I have my own strong opinion about the whole thing and I can develop it more...

If you have a Greencard, you shouldn't have a problem getting into medical school. I'm at Cornell, and I know of at least 3, and probably more like 5 or 6, people in my class who have Greencards.

However, I think the chances are probably very slim without it.

Good luck!

are you guys talking about permanent residents compared with foreign students? PRs receive financial aid just like citizens do. Foreign students have to show financial ability prior to admission (at some places).