Jan 8, 2019
Hi everyone,

I am applying to residency in the upcoming cycle and I was wondering if I could get a non-clinical letter? I'll have 3 strong clinical letters but for the fourth one, I was wondering if I could get it from my HIV clinic director? I have been working at this HIV center for about 8 years and work with underserved patients in several capacities. If I have 3 strong clinical letter, can my 4th be non-clinical?

Thank you.

rokshana

10+ Year Member
Sep 20, 2004
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
Hi everyone,

I am applying to residency in the upcoming cycle and I was wondering if I could get a non-clinical letter? I'll have 3 strong clinical letters but for the fourth one, I was wondering if I could get it from my HIV clinic director? I have been working at this HIV center for about 8 years and work with underserved patients in several capacities. If I have 3 strong clinical letter, can my 4th be non-clinical?

Thank you.
How is that non clinical?

GoSpursGo

Allons-y!
Staff member
Administrator
10+ Year Member
Sep 30, 2008
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
Hi everyone,

Thank you.
Agree it seems clinical even if it’s not from a rotation.

It sounds like you probably want this letter.

OP
J
Jan 8, 2019
@rokshana @GoSpursGo , what if the letter is from a PhD and nurse but not MD? They're the executive directors of the clinic. They've seen me work with multiple MD's and they've seen me built up programs for the clinic! Is that still clinical?

MSTPlease

7+ Year Member
Oct 11, 2009
Status
Resident [Any Field]
@rokshana @GoSpursGo , what if the letter is from a PhD and nurse but not MD? They're the executive directors of the clinic. They've seen me work with multiple MD's and they've seen me built up programs for the clinic! Is that still clinical?