non science major interested in research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bobat

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a college graduate with a BA that is completely unrelated to science and have recently decided I may want to go back to school to purse science. I specifically would love to do research but I am unsure of what track I need to take in order to get where I want to be.
I am taking some science classes at an extension program the moment and figure I probably need to go back to school and do another bachelors in say-biology? Is this correct? Are there post bacc type programs for research scientist hopefuls?
Get research experience, etc.
After that though where would I go?
I do not want to work at a clinic or a hospital. I do not want to work with patients but I do want to be able to work with people for research studies.
I do not know what type of research I want to do but I have a strong interest in diseases. Would it be best for me to apply to a PHD program or go for a research heavy MD?

I know very little about all of this so I am sorry if my questions seem dumb or commonsensical.

Members don't see this ad.

With an undergraduate degree in classical languages and my only science related course being biology 101 (w/out lab), I was able to get a job in a molecular biology lab in Boston just by applying extremely widely (~10-20 positions). Around this time, I was of a similar sentiment to you, and I enrolled in extension classes in cell bio, mol bio, genetics. After I made the decision to go to med school (for clinical and research purposes), I enrolled in a postbac program. You definitely do not need another BA.

From what I've seen, you don't sound like you need to pursue an MD, but get a job in a medically related lab and see how you feel about it.