Non-Science Majors in Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jsmith34

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I am actually a pre-med student but I felt this was the appropriate forum to post this question in. I recently switched from biology to psychology in undergrad due to personal choices/interests. I obviously realize that medical school don't care what you major in as long as you do well and finish your pre reqs. However, if you were a non-science major in undergrad how did this affect you with the med school curriculum? Were you just as capable to understand and learn the material as science majors? And on the other hand, anybody who was a science major in undergrad, did you feel that it gave you an advantage? Thanks guys for any replies!

Members don't see this ad.

And on the other hand, anybody who was a science major in undergrad, did you feel that it gave you an advantage?

I think it made biochem/cell bio pretty easy. Occasionally it's helpful in other subjects (this also depends on what courses you took in ugrad) but nothing to write home about.

i was a poli-sci major and i am in the top 1/4 of my class.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was a business major (and if I could do it again, I'd be an English major). A lot of the science is new to me, but it just means I work a little harder than my classmates and ask more questions. Other than that, I don't think it's had a huge affect on me.

I was an English major and I'm doing really well in med school. I've got two recommendations: 1) don't just do the prerequisite courses and call it a day; take a few upper-division science courses (e.g. biochem). 2) Get involved in basic science research. Find an area you're interested in and a professor who's willing to work with you and you won't regret it. It's good for your CV (experience, chance at having your name on a publication) and hones your scientific thinking.