• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

Non-trad chances 3.57 cGPA/3.93 sGPA/ 34P

About the Ads

darkjedi

how did this get here I am not good with computer
10+ Year Member
Oct 14, 2009
  1. Attending Physician
    Your chances are very good at getting accepted somewhere. Those top tiers will still be a large long shot, but if you have the time/money/energy to invest in doing all of those secondaries, by all means. It is also approaching later in the cycle if you haven't started submitting those secondaries yet.

If you had to cut, I would strongly consider cutting Harvard, Yale, and Stanford. Those schools are not as in love with post-bacs as some of the other top tiers are (i.e. Penn and Chicago)

boshtrich

10+ Year Member
    Jul 20, 2011
    1. Attending Physician
      Hi all,

A little about myself: I am a career changer (previous career in finance) and graduated from a top 5 LAC in 2007. I spent the last year at a post-bac program (bryn mawr, scripps, goucher) and completed the program with a 4.0. I recently got my MCAT back, which was a 34P (12/10/12). I have a 3.57 cGPA and a 3.93 BCPM, with a strong upward trend (freshman/sophomore years weighed me down)

While I was working, I didn't have much time to volunteer (worked about 80 hrs/week), but I have been able to put together the following ECs since graduating undergrad:
      - ~100 hrs volunteering at a senior living facility
      - ~80 hrs shadowing an internist
      - ~100 hrs shadowing a surgeon
      - I've been a volunteer private athletic coach for economically disadvantaged kids since about 2006 (about 2 hrs a week)
      -worked throughout undergrad (varied from part time to full time) in finance internships
      - played college sports