Non-trad FNP with any chance of getting in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Natyloo

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a Family Nurse Practitioner that really wants to (finally) attend med school. I diverted my plan due to a miserable UG GPA (in '97). I went to a difficult school, loaded on too many science classes every semester, was extremely immature and ate a ton of humble pie no longer being the top dog at school and graduated with a 2.2 GPA. I took classes at the community college, and subsequently went to nursing school and graduated with a 3.8, then grad school and graduated as a nurse practitioner (2012) with a 4.0. I obviously grew up. I've been practicing in an urgent care and emergency room setting, but I want to practice without doc supervision and with a much greater understanding of medicine. I don't know if I'd ever get in, but I feel like I can't let this rest.

I've reached out to several local med schools to see if I could meet with an admissions counselor to give me some direction of whether to begin with MCATs, or if I need to overhaul my UG GPA despite my UG nursing and NP courses/experience. But, no one is willing to provide that service.

Any advice? I really don't care if I'm too old, my GPA was too low, etc . . . I practice in the field of medicine & I am certain this is the path I want to take. I just need a plan and don't exactly know where to begin.

Members don't see this ad.

What is your actual undergraduate gpa? (Nursing classes count, graduate nursing classes don’t)

If it’s >3.0 and you slam-dunk an MCAT you could probably put together an interesting app.

Just be prepared to answer the question of why isn’t nursing “good enough” a hundred times.

(Which is patronizing and unprofessional as ****, but folks don’t see that side of it.)

Reactions: 1 users
What is your actual undergraduate gpa? (Nursing classes count, graduate nursing classes don’t)