Non-trad here. Is dentistry right for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lynnep

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm 28 and I've been thinking about a career switch for a while now. A little background: I graduated from an Ivy with a science degree, intending to become a veterinarian. For a variety of reasons, I decided not to pursue that path and ended up in the high-tech field. While I've worked really hard at my job for the past 5 years and gotten a lot of promotions/special awards, I haven't been very satisified, which I think is important since I tend to work at least 50 hours a week.

I'm still in career exploration mode and think dentistry could potentially be a good fit (along with audiology and a couple of other fields). I've job shadowed in a few health-care fields and honestly, it hasn't helped influence my decision yet. Here are the things that I think are appearling and potential downsides. Let me know if I'm being realistic with these:

Pros:
Good pay - important since I'd be leaving a fairly high-paying job and want to maintain my standard of living. Don't necessarily care about becoming 'rich' though.
Good work hours
Instant gratification in terms of fixing problems
1:1 interaction with patients
Potential to become own boss
Cons:
Lack of job opportunities? Before opening your own clinic, are associate positions easy to find?
Coordination. I worry about not being coordinated enough to perform the necessary procedures
One other question: One of the reasons I'm not considering medicine is that I don't want to deal with life and death situations. Are there surgical procedures in dentistry that could potentially cause someone to die if you make a mistake? I've never really heard of a patient dying at a dental clinic so I'm not sure if it's a valid concern.

Members don't see this ad.