Non-trad, MS: Am I on the right track?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Green912

10+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's my story:
I graduated seven years ago with a BS in Biology with a really bad 2.5gpa. Since then I've been working as a fulltime Paramedic/Fireman for a small city in Ohio. Over the years I've matured quite a bit and decided to seriously pursue my desire to enter med school.
I've finished two semesters of my Masters program in Biology and am maintaining a 4.0gpa. I'm going to school FT (9 credits is considered FT)while still working FT. I'm also married. I've never taken the MCAT, but am studying for it now. Assuming my MCAT score is sufficiently high enough, does anyone have an idea of how I'll be viewed by Ad Com's? I plan to only apply in Ohio to both MD and DO programs.

thanks for reading another "what do you think" question.
R.E.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Green,

I was in the same boat, more or less. I did a master's program with a 4.0, and now I'm just working full time. Needless to say, it's been a while between the time I took chemistry and physics (about 8 years) until the time I took the MCAT. It may require some additional studying to get good scores, but it can be done.

As far as admissions committees go, they seem to LOVE students who have been working and decided to go back to study medicine. They definitely will look favorably on you. Just keep up that GPA, and do well on the MCAT. You'll go far.

Joe

I think you will both be fine! Believe it or not, ADCOMS look pretty favorably on "older" applicants that have some "life" experience. I am "older"/"non-trad" as well and it was my OUTSIDE interests and experiences that got me into a great school (don't get me wrong, I had a high GPA & decent, but not awesome, MCAT).