Oct 6, 2011
Status
Pre-Medical
Okay, here is my situation, I would appreciate any help provided very much. I am a paramedic and have been for the last six years. My current position is Field Training Officer. I am a BLS, PALS, and ACLS instructor, and I am a paramedic instructor at the local college. I have been published in a peer-reviewed journal (although it wasn't research). I am shadowing an ER physician regularly, and hope to get time shadowing an intensivist and cardiologist soon. I am also volunteering when I have time.

I didn't always know I wanted to be a physician, and recently came to terms with finally making the decision to take a venture towards medical school. I love the clinical aspect of my job, and I really do want to work towards having the autonomy a physician has. However, since I had no plans of going to medical school, and I was simply immature, my grades are not excellent. I have had a steep upward trend since reanalyzing my goals, and I hope to continue to achieve good grades.

I still have most of the pre-medical requirements to complete, and hope to be close to done by MCAT time next year. So what are my chances? I want to go to an MD school, and I am not against USUHS, or the Caribbean. I am a Florida resident, and UM would be top choice in state. So is this a pipe dream? I am 28 years old, so I would rather not do a graduate program.

I hope this is not in bad taste, but I have summarized my transcript below. Have a look, I know I have some tough grades to overcome, and my AMCAS GPA will be lower. Thank you in advance to anyone who has advice for me.

Transcript:
EMS 2119 MEDICAL CARE B
EMS 2119LFUND EMG LAB S
EMS 2411 EMERGE CLINIC A
EMS 2421 EMS FIELD INTERN S
Current Term:

ASE 1101 BODY SYS PM B
ASE 1102 PARA SCI I B
ASE 1103 PARA SCI I LAB S
ASE 1104 PARA SCI I FIELD S
Current Term:

ASE 1105 PM SCI II B
ASE 1106 PARA SCI II LAB S
ASE 1107 PM SCI II CARDIO B
ASE 1108 PARA SCI HSP I A
ASE 1109 PARA SCI II FIELD A
Current Term: