Mar 15, 2021
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Hello! Sorry, this is just another "low GPA, what can I do about it" post.

I graduated in 2016 with a BS in biology, then a BSN in 2018. cGPA 3.4, sGPA 3.15. Unfortunately, from my undergrad I had the wrong trajectory. I was diagnosed with a serious health condition and spent a lot of time in the hospital, so my freshman/soph GPA was ~3.6 and was around 3.0 for subsequent semesters for my first BS. I received a 4.0 in my 2 year BSN program after that, though I know that is not particularly helpful. Over the last 8 months I have so far retaken or am retaking every pre-req course with less than a B and am working on a schedule to retake all of physics, o chem, and biochem before retaking the MCAT next year. So far, I have received all A/A+ grades on the 20 credit hours of hard science classes I've taken.

I am working full time as an RN in a high acuity ICU, so this is a slow process (I am only retaking 10-12 hours a semester to ensure all As). I am active in quality improvement initiatives and have been published in a few critical care journals articles alongside our physicians, who are happy write my rec letters. As a non-trad student, I am wondering if what I am doing to improve my GPA is enough. My #1 choice is the allopathic state school that is affiliated with my hospital. I am a legacy, and my husband graduated from that program, so I am committed to trying my chances there if able. 40% of IS applicants at this school matriculate, and 100% get interviews. I did take the MCAT in undergrad and got a 517--hopefully when I retake it I can achieve similar results, though I know a good MCAT doesn't compensate for a really bad GPA. Additionally, the 10th percentile of GPAs for my goal school is 3.5, though despite working hard, I am having difficulty raising my GPA to even get there due to my first undergrad record.