Jul 12, 2009
Status
Pre-Medical
I am a non-traditional student returning to school at 37. I took my first Intro to Chem course last semester and got an A. It was my tester class to see how well I'd do in the sciences. I have already graduated from college with a BA in Psych and my Master's in Social Work both with distinction. I am a few hundred hours from obtaining all my hours for my LCSW. (I was off-track because my son was born with Autism so I was a stay at home mom for about 5 years. But he's doing very well now because I did so.) My GPA for all my coursework is a 3.9. I haven't taken the MCAT yet, which I am a little scared of. And my science pre-req's I have a 1 semester intro to Bio w/ lab and the Intro to Chem 1 semester w/ lab. I have been working at the hospital performing Psych Evals along side all the MD's and nurses, and have established wonderful relationships with them. They have encouraged me and said they would provide letters of reference.
Well, that was when I wasn't getting a divorce. So divorce is imminent, and I'll be the primary custodial for the two children (16 and 6). I have a great support system where I am moving to so that is not an issue. There are a few things that I'm worried about that I would appreciate some help on...

1) I'm worried about the Calculus requirement only because it will put me into my pre-req's for an additional year. I already have 2 yrs of pre-req's if I go full-time, and let's face it, I'm not getting any younger. I'm looking at schools that do not require Calculus. UCSF which I am shooting for as my #1 pick, is the exception in CA med schools. I see a lot that do not require it but do they look at it anyway? I have Stats and Algebra 2 completed.