Non-Traditional and Low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sjenn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated in 2012 with a degree in Economics.

My GPA is 3.54 (I know it is not good enough for vet schools) and that is because I started strong. Then, I started to get bad grades, like 3.1 towards my 4th year. Meaning, my grades went down year after year and my GPA for last 45 units is horrible.This is a bad sign!! On top of that, I took a lot of pass-or-no passes for my electives towards the end of my college years. I just wanted to get over with college and thought I would never want to come back to school. I am freaking out because I can not change my undergrad GPA!!

I took no science courses. To satisfy the prerequisites, I am planning to attend a community college. If I get good grades at a community college, will that grades add onto my overall undergrad GPA and GPA for last 45 units? So that my GPA can boost up a little bit?

Please give me advice. Do you think my chances of going to a vet school look grim?
(By the way, I am currently studying for my GRE)

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, your new undergraduate course work will be factored into your GPA when you apply. All course work from all institutions has to be reported.

As for your prerequisite courses, if you have taken no science, then you must have a lot of classes to take. Starting your classes at a community college is fine, but remember that generally schools will require you to take at least the upper level sciences at a four year institution.

3.5 isn't bad at all...and with all the prereqs you'll need to take you can easily boost it and your last 45 up.