Non-Traditional Applicant, hoping I make the cut...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bette

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got my B.S. in Mechanical Engineering and worked as a design engineer at a major engineering company for two years before I decided I wanted to switch careers and go into medicine. I left my job and I have been working at a hospital with a research group, where I have unique and lengthy interactions with patients on a near daily basis.

My undergraduate GPA is 3.52, which seems on the lower end but was in a very difficult major. I am currently doing my pre-med requirements in a post-bac program at Harvard Extension School, and my GPA is about a 3.5-3.6 (I am working ~50 hours/week). I am taking the MCAT next month, so I don't have a score for that yet, but I think I'm on track for a 33-35.

I'm nervous because as an engineer, I didn't take many humanities. I'm also concerned that my GPA doesn't represent my academic abilities. I don't have any volunteer experience under my belt, but I've been working full time in a medical setting and doing my pre-med courses, so that doesn't leave me much time. Can anyone tell me about non-traditional applicants, your experience applying as one, and if I have a shot at getting into any M.D. programs?

Members don't see this ad.

I got my B.S. in Mechanical Engineering and worked as a design engineer at a major engineering company for two years before I decided I wanted to switch careers and go into medicine. I left my job and I have been working at a hospital with a research group, where I have unique and lengthy interactions with patients on a near daily basis.