1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Non-traditional applicant, need advice please

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by dd3236, Apr 12, 2007.

1. dd3236

Hi, I'm currently 29 (turning 30 this yr) and am very interested in becoming a dentist. I have been reading tons of dental posts here over the past few months and have thought very hard about this decision. I am currently about 98% sure I want to do this but some plan on making a solid, FINAL decision in the next couple of months. I've noticed everyone on here is very helpful and friendly so I wanted to get your opinions on my situation...

I graduated from UCI in 1999 with a 3.1 overall and 2.4 science (really bad, i know). I started as a bio major and after two yrs switched out to econ because physics and o-chem was just too hard (but really it was because I had no drive or motivation to study harder).

I plan on retaking almost all of my science classes through UCI extension and even if I get straight A's, my science GPA will still be only about 3.1 after all the old and new science classes are averaged together.

I've come to this decision to go dental because I've realized it's something that I really want to do. I really enjoy helping people. I've done two years of volunteer ski patrol (which requires an OEC certificate which is basically an outdoors version of an EMT) and in doing that I realized that I love helping people. Other obvious reasons though include the usual... the prestige, pay and respect is nice as well. I want to be able to provide for my family financially.