1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Non-Traditional applicants to OMFS

Discussion in 'Dental Residents and Practicing Dentists' started by omfsj, Apr 28, 2007.

1. omfsj

Dental Student
    Hello everyone!
    I was wondering if any current OMFS residents or anyone with information about residency selection could give me advice. Over the years, I have taken more of an interest in OMFS. I graduated about 5 years ago with 87 part I and unfortunately, not in the top 10% of class in CA dental school. Published paper before dental school (cell bio related), Ivy undergrad, Volunteer faculty at school, did a GPR with OMFS emphasis with first call every 3 nights and assisting in OR with OMFS Residents, admitting, discharging pts., tons of extractions, lacerations, trauma in NYC. Would programs discriminate against my type of application, since I graduated a while ago (too old?), or would they look closely at what I have done--What would it take to overcome 87 boards and not so great ranking (LOR's, etc)? Which programs would be more favorable to apply to for older, not just out of school applicants?
    Thanks

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. shabu2

10+ Year Member

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    I don't think age has a lot to do with the overall chance of you getting into OMFS. I met plenty of 30y/o+ candidates me included, but I do think your 87 part I hurts you particularly the 6yr-MD programs. I would shoot your application out there (20+ programs) and hope to get a few interviews. If you have any personality at all you will match. I met plenty of people who were such douche bags with fabulous numbers. My mentor always told me that the best OMFS program in the United States was the one you matched to. Good Luck.

4. flat4

flat4 Mullet Redesigner
    7+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    My numbers weren't that great.

5. shabu2

10+ Year Member