Non-Traditional -> Dental Hygiene -> Dental School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xkc9126x

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I am a new member of this forum! I am currently seeking help from everyone; I'd appreciate all criticisms, advice and encouragements.

I am a non traditional student looking to start/pursue my interest in dentistry. I have not graduated college yet - I was previously majoring in design, with 2 years left until graduation. After 2 years of working at the dental office, I felt I should give it a try in applying for the dental field (I was interested since high school but I was always living in fear and scared to start any applications). Why live in fear right? We'll just end up asking what if's and regret the chances we didn't take. However, because I don't have a bachelor's degree yet (or sci pre-reqs, only english, math and bio are complete), I am in the process of applying to transfer into the prerequisite track of the bachelor's degree at NYU for the DH program Spring'16 (I know this may waste a bit more time, but I have some liberal arts credits that may be transferable. I am a perceptive learner so I feel like it is best for me to start with the DH program rather than applying for DS after design). At first, I decided to continue the design degree and then apply for DS after, but as of now, I feel it's leading me further way from my goal, hence why I want to switch over.

1) Does anyone know if the BS degree of the NYU DH program serve as a bachelor's requirement for Dental School?

2) Are there any members here in the forum that are in the NYU BS Dental Hygiene program? Or CUNY City Tech's? How was your first year?