non traditional - high gpa, eh mcat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Engineer2med

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been working as an engineer for 5 years. Graduated with a 3.9 GPA in engineering. I also have my masters in engineering, 3.9 GPA as well. I took the mcat "just for fun" 4 years ago and got a 27Q. I just took it for real after loads of studying in march 27th and left feeling defeated. I doubt i even hit my 27Q that "just for fun" pulled 4 years ago. Let's say that I get a 27Q, with my 3.9 cum GPA (4.0 science), some volunteering experience, some community service, do I have a chance at a MD midwest state school? I don't know how to get my mcat up anymore? It's the timing that's the issue. perhaps I'll get my score back in April and actually have done well, but I really don't think so.

Members don't see this ad.

Which engineering are you trained in/haved worked in? Generally, bioengineering (same as biomedical engineering) and chemical engineering are considered most closely related to medicine. With these, it is easier to relate your experiences to medicine and may be easier to show your reasoning on your path from industry to medical school.

Have you taken all of your pre-reqs for med school? If so, what is your science gpa. Please note that engineering courses are not considered science courses and so they do not factor into your sci gpa.