Non traditional: PA to MD questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OldArmyPA

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm old(er). I have been a Physician Assistant for just under 10 years now, am 49 yo and served in the US Army for 21 years, my last 4.5 as a PA. I worked as a PA part to full time for much of my time after the Army. GPA ~3.2ish, sGPA 3.4ish probably (I made poor choices out of high school which is how I ended up in the Army in the first place...PA School GPA BS+MS was 3.7). I plan to take the MCAT in September and am shooting for ~515. I have over 10,000 clinical hours as a PA (no negative actions before you ask). I do not plan on applying to tier 1 schools, I am in Eastern Ky and plan on applying to mostly state schools (UKY, U Louisville, U TN, U Cincinnati, etc. so I can maybe commute and not have to move my family anytime soon (at one point we moved 6 times in 8 years for the Army in and around PA school). My questions are:

Do volunteer hours really matter to me at this point? I did some volunteering while in service but that was a while ago and I do not have record of them.

Other than exceeding my own expectations on the MCAT, is there anything else that could help my chances?

Before anyone asks "Why do you want to go to medical school at this age when you already have a career doing mostly the same thing paying very well ?"