Non-traditional route a dealbreaker?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jjancari

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am still early on prerequisite wise where I question if a dental school would even bother accepting me after looking at my transcript. I graduated high school in 2014, should be going into my senior year of college but I am only barely a junior status and still have 2.5 years left. Community college gpa: 3.9 with 30 credits, 4-year university gpa: 3.41 with 38 credit hours. I have only completed gen chem 1&2 and o-chem 1 BCMP wise.

Backstory: First semester of college I went to a private school, I hated it, transferred at semester to a community college to give myself time to determine where I would complete my bachelor degree (didn't want to rush and transfer to a 4-year university). The 4-year university I was set on was out-of-state, I pay for college on my own so I thought the best choice would be to obtain in-state tuition which meant staying at 5> credit hours per semester for 12 months. After completing the 12 months, I went to the 4-year university for a semester full-time. I irrationally dropped out, and decided to pursue dental hygiene at the community college I had attended previously. The following spring and summer semesters I worked on the prerequisites for dental hygiene, I only attended part-time due to the amount of coursework I had completed I did not need to go full-time. After talking to people in the field, I found out hygiene is an overpopulated career and I should go back to get my bachelor's.