Medical Non-traditional student - How do I best prepare for application?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, looking for some advice if anyone is willing. I am a non-traditional student applying in 2021 (early but needed for planning!). Pasting my stats below, but a little about me:

I graduated college in 2011 with a B.S. in Molecular Biology and a Minor in math followed by 3 years of research experience at the Fred Hutch Cancer research center (2 second author publications). I then began working at an inpatient center for children with mental and behavioral health issues as a crisis counselor with the goal of applying to medical school.

My family ran into financial hardship at the time -- health issues. I joined tech 5.5 years ago to help pay bills and support. Worked as a Data Scientist and now lead Engineering teams. I have successfully helped my family over the last 5 years and grown as a professional, helping grow the highest valued startup in the US from early stages. I am now looking to go back to my original plan, now that I am able to apply to medical school, but unsure if I’m now uncompetitive/what I need to do to be competitive. Never thought I’d get my family financially stable, but want to fulfill my dream.

Stats: GPA:
3.73 SGPA: 3.85 MCAT -- taking Jan 2021 studying now

Shadowing:
- 2 docs lined up waiting for shelter in place to lift
- 2009-2011 Shadowing (2 diff doctors): 80hrs

Research:
- 2.5 years as a researcher 2 pubs
- 3.5 years of undergrad

Volunteer Service:
- Ran the community events at yearly company gathering (2016-2018 240 hours)
- Involved in two local non-profits focused on homelessness (200 hours last 2 years)
- Indiana Gay Pride 120 hours
- Taught underserved high school kids science experiments while a researcher (60 hours per year)
- Orientation leader for community service (2009-2011) 240 hours per year

Clinical: