Non-traditional student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

silvermodelrph

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a 35 year-old pharmacist interested in applying to dental school. I need to know if I should apply directly to dental school or obtain a post-bacc. degree first. My overall GPA is 3.16 and my science GPA is 2.75. If I score well (>19) on all portions of the DAT, write a kick-butt essay, and obtain a diverse plethora of dental experiences, is my chance of admission hopeful? Or should I just get my Master's and apply then? By the way, I am > 8 years out of college. Has anyone made it to dental school with the GPA's I mention here? I'd appreciate any constructive advice! Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I think the decision would be based on whether you want to get into any dental school or whether you want to get into particular dental schools. (By the way, does going to grad school have an effect on GPA? Sorry, don't really know how that works). If you take a look at the stats for the lowest schools (in terms of GPA), there are a few hovering at the lower end of 3 or lower (for 1999-2000 entering class), such as Howard, Meharry, Tufts. So it's probably possible to get into a dental school. Some schools also say they don't emphasize GPA too much, such as UOP.
HTH

Silvermodelrph,
Why are you leaving pharmacy? I'm 40 planning on entering the pharmacy field in 2002. I've considered medicine but have decided that pharmacy would be the best route for a second career.
Any experiences or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Members don't see this ad :)