Non-traditional student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dlsprngr88

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated 6 years ago with a degree in business management. I chose the path of business because I had no idea what I wanted to do in life, and after some poor advising I closed my eyes and randomly selected my "life's work". I have spent the past five years traveling between the Virgin Islands and Maryland working as a licensed mariner captain. A little over a year ago, I realized my passion is in health and fitness and that my future is in healthcare. I returned back to the states and immediately registered for courses at the community college.

I am absolutely determined, and will do whatever it takes to become a doctor and dedicate my life to enhancing the live's of others.

The mountain to climb...

I graduated with a 2.5 GPA. However, since I returned to school I have taken a year (2semesters) of bio, a&p, as well as chem and received an "A" in every course. I have also taken a semester of physics and 3 upper level psych courses, also receiving all A's. I completed these 40+ credits in only a year, and there is an obvious improvement in my work ethic between now and 5 years ago when I graduated. I make strong efforts to communicate with all of my professors, and I have been offered LORs from several, highly respected professors.

My relative experience includes working as an aide, for 4 years, for a couple who have a disabled daughter with a ringed X chromosome. I have also spent some quality time shadowing physical therapists and primary care physicians. I also have plans to shadow a DO and some doctors of internal medicine.