Non-Traditional Students - What if the financial aid package isn't enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IdahoFZ

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question for the non-traditional students out there - what do you do if the financial aid package isn't enough?

I'm an incoming DO student at LMU-DCOM (in Harrogate, TN), and I have a wife and two kids. I recently received my financial aid award - after paying tuition & fees, we'll be left with about $20k a year to live on. We try to live as frugally as possible, but even so, I seriously doubt we can get by on just $20k a year.

The financial aid counselor told me she's sorry, but there's nothing she can do. :confused: I've already been awarded the maximum loan amounts (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized, and Grad PLUS) up to the cost of attendance for the school, and apparently you can't borrow in excess of that.

Are there any other sources of loans/scholarships? I've done quite a bit of searching, but can't seem to find anything!

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I have a question for the non-traditional students out there - what do you do if the financial aid package isn't enough?

I'm an incoming DO student at LMU-DCOM (in Harrogate, TN), and I have a wife and two kids. I recently received my financial aid award - after paying tuition & fees, we'll be left with about $20k a year to live on. We try to live as frugally as possible, but even so, I seriously doubt we can get by on just $20k a year.

The financial aid counselor told me she's sorry, but there's nothing she can do. :confused: I've already been awarded the maximum loan amounts (Direct Subsidized, Unsubsidized, and Grad PLUS) up to the cost of attendance for the school, and apparently you can't borrow in excess of that.

Are there any other sources of loans/scholarships? I've done quite a bit of searching, but can't seem to find anything!

Thanks in advance!