non-traditional, where should I apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wolverine2116

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm applying to med schools this cycle and am still trying to narrow down my list of schools. I am a Michigan resident and got a BA in psychology from U of Michigan in 2007 with a GPA of 3.78. After graduation I worked in a psych hospital for a little over a year before taking a job in an ER at a local hospital. After a little over a year there I decided I wanted to do med school and started taking classes at Western Michigan full time. In a year and one summer I took calc1-4, a year of bio, a year of chem, and a year of calc-based physics with a 4.0 GPA. Western is about an hour from where I live so I only worked PRN for a year. But since I only had organic chem left to take, I stayed closer to home for the last year to take orgo I and II at Indiana-South Bend (I live just inside the Michigan border and work in South Bend). Unless I completely collapse on my finals next week I will have a 4.0 there as well. Also, I will be taking biochem in the fall.

My overall GPA is 3.85 with a 4.00 science GPA (unless the calc 2 and physics I took my first semester at Michigan also count into it. That would add a B+ and a B/A for the lecture and lab in physics). I will also have four years of experience working in an ER by the time I matriculate and one year in a psych hospital if that means anything. I do not have any kind of medical volunteer experiences I can think of, but I have done a few days of doctor shadowing with different specialties. I will also have a very good letter from one of the ER doctors.