Nontrad chances (3.3 GPA, 35 MCAT, lowtier MD)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

winterwind_23

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I figured that since I'm applying for medical school next year, I might as well make my very own "What are my chances?" thread to see if I'm on the right track. I will be mostly applying to lower-tier MD schools, maybe a few midtier MD schools as "reaches", and a few DO schools as "backups," though I have not made a list of schools I'll be applying to yet.

I graduated in 2011, worked at a few tech companies, and had a change of heart about my career and decided I wanted to do medicine. I won't bore you with my story, but I guess I'm considered a "nontrad" if that helps.

Demographics
Asian male from California
First-generation, low-income

Academics
Undergraduate institution: A top 10 school
Major: Chemistry
Cummulative GPA: 3.30
BCPM GPA: 3.31
MCAT: 35 (13 PS, 11 VR, 11 BS)

Currently taking classes at extension of 4-year university
Anatomy
Aantomy lab
Genetics
Medical Microbiology

I will be taking three more classes next semester, most likely:
Cell Biology
Statistics
Immunology

Hopefully I can pull off a 3.7 or above in this postbac, pulling my overall GPA to 3.35-3.40ish.

Clinical/Volunteer Experience
Volunteer in ER since January of this year (4 hours/week)
Volunteer at Alzheimer's care center (4 hours/week)
Volunteer with a hospice organization visiting patients (2-3 hours/week)
Volunteer as tutor in adult literacy program run by my city (2 hours/week)

The latter three volunteer experiences that I listed I only started recently within the last month, but I plan on doing them through my application process next year, and hopefully through until I go to med school. That'll give me 8 months or so at each of these positions before I apply.

I don't have any shadowing experience yet, but I plan on shadowing at least one family practice doctor next semester.