Aug 25, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi! I've been browsing the forums for over a year and have decided to put my info out there.

I have an unusual academic background, so the numbers are difficult to discern my prospects.

I had a 2.5gpa from undergrad (Math major). I did not complete the final 8 credits needed for graduation. I took 6 years off, transferred to an ivy-league school (I was previously at an ivy) and began the process of completing my bachelors (they required that I complete 64 credits as a transfer student). In my final year, as a transfer student, I became very ill. Instead of withdrawing from courses, I took Fs. I was hospitalized a few times, and eventually was diagnosed with cancer. I attempted to complete my degree while in treatment, but received 2Fs and 2As per semester. I'm not sure why I continued taking a full load when it should have been obvious to me that my health wouldn't permit it. Finally, after dragging my 3.8gpa down to a 2.0gpa, I went on health leave until I regained my health. I returned and completed 12 credits and received As, so I believe I have a 2.3gpa.

BUT......
During the 18mo that I took off to regain my health, I decided to take science courses at my local state university, 10min from my house (I was commuting 3hrs to my ivy transfer school). I completed Bio I/II, Chem I/II, Physics I/II, Orgo Chem I/II, Genetics, Cell Bio, Microbio, Biochem, Anatomy & Phys, Immunology, Developmental Bio, Calc I/II + all the required labs. I received a 3.94 GPA in these courses. I took the MCAT and received a 317, although I am considering retaking it.

After I completed these science courses, I returned to the ivy transfer school to complete the final 12 credits for my BA. I knew that if I took the science courses after graduating, the grades would count as post-bac and wouldn't lift my GPA. I don't know what my GPA will be after AMCAS does its calculations.