Nontrad. Low GPA. Where to start?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

alsmit15

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello-
31 y/o nontrad needing advice on the route to medical school. A little background, I have always wanted to pursue medical school. I began undergrad as a Biology major, after struggling through classes I switched my major to Psychology around the end of my second year to salvage my gpa and graduated in 2012 with a BA Psychology.

Currently, I've been working (non-medical field) for seven years and have decided to go back and pursue medial school. I now have more life experience and feel 100% more focused than my first go around.

I'm just stumped as to where to start--- I'm trying to do my own research but it's hard to formulate an actual concrete plan on my own.
Who is recommended to contact? Should I call a local four year university counselor/advisor? Do I call a medical school counselor? Should I just go back and retake the science courses needed for the MCAT? SMP?

ALL advice is appreciated!!

GPA: 2.75
sGPA: (I think?) 2.2

Members don't see this ad.

Hello-
31 y/o nontrad needing advice on the route to medical school. A little background, I have always wanted to pursue medical school. I began undergrad as a Biology major, after struggling through classes I switched my major to Psychology around the end of my second year to salvage my gpa and graduated in 2012 with a BA Psychology.

Currently, I've been working (non-medical field) for seven years and have decided to go back and pursue medial school. I now have more life experience and feel 100% more focused than my first go around.

I'm just stumped as to where to start--- I'm trying to do my own research but it's hard to formulate an actual concrete plan on my own.