Nontraditional w/Masters, where best to pick up pre-med credits?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tarbell86

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody

I am a 28 year old English Writing Instructor at a University in Austin, TX. I hold a Master's and Bachelor's degree, both in English. My undergraduate GPA was 3.4, and my graduate GPA was 3.9 (damn A- in one class). Anyway, I've always gone back and forth with myself about going to Medical school. It's something, truth be told, that I've always wanted to do, and felt drawn to. But, and I hate to admit this, because of series of events and poor timing, made a decision to follow my other interest nearly 10 years ago instead.

For many reasons (perhaps too many to list here) I've decided to change career paths and go to Medical School. So, here's my question: I'm well aware of the pre-med course requirements. A few of these credits I technically have--thanks to my BA--although, truth be told I'd like to retake some of them, not necessarily because I did poorly, but because I don't remember a whole lot of the material. In my case, would pre-med course credits from a community college be acceptable (considering all other ducks were in a row: MCAT, volunteer work, etc.)? How would someone in my shoes go about this kind of thing?

EDIT: I've read some similar posts where people say they took some CC courses and some at 4 year institutions. Do 4 Year Inst. let people do this? Take 8 classes and that's it?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
-although, truth be told I'd like to retake some of them, not necessarily because I did poorly, but because I don't remember a whole lot of the material.
Some programs have a policy of not accepted courses taken more than X years ago. You should check the websites of individual MD/DO programs that you're interested in.