1. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Not Feeling Too Good Right Now About My Grades...

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by Triathlete, May 28, 2008.

1. Triathlete

Triathlete New Member

Pre-Dental
    Hi,
    My name is Mick. I'm 27/M and I work as a night-shift RN, 24 hours a week. Recently I just received a D in my O chem class and I am sick to my stomach. My overall GPA was 3.2 (including city college courses, and without nursing classes) and I had an overall GPA of 3.28 at my Cal State. I loaded myself with 13 units this semester and due to things occurring outside of school, my grades are considerably lower this semester. I was wondering how bad this D is going to affect my chances of getting into Dental school? I plan on taking both O chem classes next summer, although I got a B in the first half of O chem. Overall, I've received 2 other D's in school in my past life, both nursing courses. I have two W's also, a recent one for Bio Stats, and one for A&P, from my irresponsible nursing days. I've been an RN for almost four years, now, and I never wanted to do it. Life situations just pushed me that way. Now, I've managed to return to school to do what I really want. I hope I haven't shot myself in the foot this semester, but so many things have happened. I moved out with my fiance, whom I've gotten engaged with recently, and I've lost a few family members all this semester. In all honesty, I felt like everything this semester happened so fast, but I decided to not drop things and tough it out. Easy A's became B's and the only B I needed to work for is now a D (O chem). My transcript would show lots of A's and B's and (very) few C's here and there. I've barely begun to take upper courses this semester.