Dismiss Notice
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

Not getting the greatest of grades, feeling discouraged

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical Osteopathic [ DO ]' started by morrian14, 10.29.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. morrian14

morrian14

Pre-Medical
    So, I feel like this topic is different than most. I was accepted this year to LECOM through their early acceptance program. I know it's not the greatest medical school on the planet, but for me it's perfectly fine. It's close to home and it's much cheaper than other medical schools. I'm a freshman in college right now. In high school I had a ton of volunteer hours and worked way too much. I had a 4.0, above average SAT, and was in top ten percent. The whole shebang.
    To stay in the program I have to keep at the very least a 3.5 GPA and a 3.2 science GPA. As of right now, I'm struggling with organic chemistry. I'll probably be able to make it to a B. I'm hoping to do better the second half, but I currently have a B in freshman biology. I think my biggest problem in chemistry is that I make stupid mistakes on the test, but they add up so quickly. In biology, I study a ton but the way my professor grades the open ended portions is killing me. Basically, I will most likely have the 3.5 GPA with my writing class and a few other classes added in. I'm just so discouraged but I'm working really hard. I'm spending hours with my organic chemistry professor and studying hard for my biology exams only to get Bs. I feel like maybe I'm not cut out for medical school if I'm struggling this much with chemistry and biology.