Not getting the residency you wanted?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

circulus vitios

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've read stories of medical students being forced into Family Practice residencies because of low USMLE/COMLEX scores, and consequently hating their lives. I'm only a pre-medical student but I have a feeling I won't like the clinical side of medicine. I'd much prefer something like pathology but it scares me to think that if I somehow mess up and get bad marks, I'll be stuck doing a residency I absolutely hate. Is there any way of retaking the USMLE/COMLEX exams and getting into a residency of my choice? Or are the exams a one time deal?

Members don't see this ad.

Despite your life "being over" you'll still have to pay off your loans. Guess the best advice is to not screw up along the way and as soon as you need help get it. I believe you can resit for your boards; you have to if you fail.

I've read stories of medical students being forced into Family Practice residencies because of low USMLE/COMLEX scores, and consequently hating their lives. I'm only a pre-medical student but I have a feeling I won't like the clinical side of medicine. I'd much prefer something like pathology but it scares me to think that if I somehow mess up and get bad marks, I'll be stuck doing a residency I absolutely hate. Is there any way of retaking the USMLE/COMLEX exams and getting into a residency of my choice? Or are the exams a one time deal?

There is a lot of risk in medical school - not much risk of flunking out - but plenty of risk in not obtaining the scores that will give you a leg up to that dream residency.

Nobody should enter med school unless they go into it understanding the "risks" and not willing to accept the "lowliest" of MD specialties...whatever you think those are.

Members don't see this ad :)