Not much clinica skills as a vet student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mrow

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 2nd year vet student and have little clinical/technical skills. Most of my veterinary experience has been purely shadowing, with no hands on experience to practice skills like blood draw or IV catheterization. I just want to know if I am in a bad spot at this stage of the game (especially since I want to pursue a rotating internship after graduation)? I want to work at my schools’ ICU to gain more experience this summer, but is there anything else I should do to practice?

Members don't see this ad.

but is there anything else I should do to practice?

Does your school have a skills lab or center you can practice clinical skills in? My school has a specific area where we can go to practice a ton of different skills whenever we want

Reactions: 1 user
Does your school have a skills lab or center you can practice clinical skills in? My school has a specific area where we can go to practice a ton of different skills whenever we want
It literally just opened up. I am not certain what the rules are or what is actually available there, but I hope it’s set up that way! I’m not even sure if I can go up there right now.

Members don't see this ad :)
It literally just opened up. I am not certain what the rules are or what is actually available there, but I hope it’s set up that way! I’m not even sure if I can go up there right now.

Go check it out or ask your student affairs office about it. You won't know till you ask.

Reactions: 1 users
Is there a clinical skills class incorporated into your curriculum?
We’re doing a PPE lab in our preventative medicine class, but that’s all i know of at the moment.