Not quite sure of the correct path…

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

piernas

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been pondering what to do career-wise for quite awhile. I have a psychology degree, and was pre-med during college. I always thought I would go onto medical school, but after working 3 years in clinical research, I find that clinical medicine doesn’t interest me all that much….except for psychiatry (and psych research). But, I don’t really think I have the drive to complete medical school, especially with the lack of interest in other fields, and I enjoy my friends, family and free time too much!

So, some alternatives have been floating around in my head. I have been thinking about becoming a PA in psych or a psych NP. I do like research though, and sometimes think I could give or take the patient contact. I am pretty interested in nutritional and alternative medicine in the treatment psychiatric disorders, especially depression. Maybe I should become a RD and get an MA in counseling? Or maybe a PhD in clinical psychology (although I don’t have that great of a GPA – 3.4, may not be that competitive of an applicant)? I haven’t really even been able to find a program that matches my interests….

Sorry, I feel like I am all over the place…any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Well if you enjoy your freetime that much, a Ph.D should be out, since it is nearly as demanding as medical school in terms of the number of hours you will put into classes. Your years of clinical research would serve you well for a Ph.D however, and although your GPA is below the average for those accepted, a 3.4, doesn't exclude you automatically. It al comes down to career goals really. If you could specify what you want to do exactly, then people could give better recommendations.

Last edited:
Hi,