Not sure what to do...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JerryG

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi- I'm new to this forum and I wanted to get your opinion on my situation. I've been studying for over 3 months and my score is stuck at ~11PS, 7s and 8s VR, ~11BS. These are averages over aamc 3-10. My test is march 28th and I'm not sure if I should postpone my test or not. I've completed EK and TPR verbal workbooks. Here is a little info about me...

I'm a Louisiana resident planning on applying to LSU-NO. 4.0 GPA and good extracurriculars (research, tutoring, volunteering, etc.)

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I think you should evaluate what you want to get on the exam. I just postponed my exam from the 28th of March to June 18th, because I need a serious makeover on my Physical Sciences. Most of my friends told me to just relax (because stress was killing my scores) and just take the exam, but I know I can do better than what I'm currently scoring, so I put it off.

I will leave you with this piece of advice, because I can't tell you to go one way or the other, do what you think will be the best choice for yourself. You have good scores, but do you think you can do better? Is your average something you could get and not lose any sleep over? Would you want to retake as soon as you discovered you achieved your average on the actual MCAT? If you answered yes to these questions maybe you should consider pushing it back, but remember that when you start focusing on verbal intensely for the next month or two you might lose a little of the sharpness in your sciences and the longer you go at this studying process the greater risk you run of burnout.

Good luck, although I'm sure whatever your decision you'll be just fine.