Not Sure When to Apply - WAMC 2019?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kittylady03

Tufts c/o 2024
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm a current junior Animal Science major. I am in my school's honors program and I am a first generation student. I'm from Rhode Island, so I don't have any in-state advantages. I am planning to apply this application cycle (only to Tufts, my top choice) just to see what happens; I am very willing to take a gap year and feel that will strengthen my application more. But I still wanted to get some advice/tips on how to strengthen my application over this summer and during a potential gap year.

Also thought I should mention I'm interested in small animals, surgery, and research.

Cumulative GPA: 3.74 (predicted at the end of summer courses)
science GPA: 3.62
last 45: 3.91 (predicted at end of summer courses)

GRE results: will be taking in June - expecting high quantitative and average verbal/writing scores

Veterinary Experience:
-sadly only 30 hours right now (small animal; equine; clinics in Egypt)
-will be getting approximately 200 hours this summer (small animal)
-will be getting approximately 120 hours in January, after application cycle (equine emergency hospital externship)

Animal Experience:
-animal shelter volunteer for 3 months (looking to continue that this summer)
-dog walker for 2 years (still doing this)
-dog sitter for 2 years
-will be volunteering at horse barn this summer

Research Experience:
-127 hours in biomedical research lab
-6 hours on organic dairy farm investigating effects of canola
-teaching assistant for tissue culture course (20 hours)
-will be completing honors thesis project during senior year (complementing previous biomedical research in conjunction with veterinary pathologists)

Awards/scholarships:
-Horatio Alger RI State Scholar 2016
-Dean's List - all semesters except 1
-Dean's Scholar (2016-2019)