MD & DO Not Your Average

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DeterminedSoul

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Age 18: 4 year college, 4x withdraw no grade. Great grandfather got sick and also I hated living away from home.

Age 19-25: worked full time, primary caregiver of my great grandpa, attended two online colleges off and on (university of phoenix + ashford university) with 83 credit hours @ 2.3 cGPA (only 2 science classes thank god). At this point I had no clue what I wanted to do with my life.

Age 26-28: got my RN at a local community college + completed 100% of the pre-reqs for med school. Unfortunately everything was at CC level but it was all I could afford. I took the pre-reqs in addition to the similar nursing classes. All in all, I had 108 credit hours at 3.8 cGPA (and 3.85 sGPA). While doing this, I worked in a hospital as a Health Information Technician (and later Manager) full time. I also volunteer 4-8 hours per week at a hospital hospice ward working directly with patients. Married + 2 kids. My daughter was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at two years old which led me to nursing and ultimately medicine at the beginning of this time.

Age 28-30:
got my BSN at a local 4 year state college. Also took organic chem here. Another ~30 credit hours at 3.8 cGPA. While doing this, I worked in a hospital as a Health Information Technician full time. I also volunteer 4-8 hours per week at a hospital hospice ward working directly with patients. +1 additional kid.

Final Stats:
3.2~ cGPA, 3.75 sGPA with over 220 credit hours total.
~3.8 cGPA for the past 4 years of college.
510 MCAT score.
RN, BSN
3 years working as an RN
6 years working in Health Information (closely with physicians)
~400 hours hospital level hospice volunteering
~200 hours MD/DO shadowing