NP to MD at 40 - advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RS5NP

Reaction score
I have a BSN, MSN, post-Master APRN. Could anyone chime in on which courses I *need* to take and the timeline for applying to med school? Here's what I have so far:

Currently re-taking College Algebra bc my original course was way back in 2003

Spring 2021 - Biology I, Trig Chem I
Summer 2021 - Biology II and Chem II
Fall 2021 - Physics I, Human Anatomy
Spring 2022 - OCHEM I, Physics II
Summer 2022 - OCHEM II, Human Physiology
Fall 2022 - Biochem, possibly stats or immunology

My Comp I and Comp II were also in the early 2000s? Will I need to re-take these?

Where in this timeline do I actually apply for med school/take MCAT? If accepted when would I actually *start* med school?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
I'm just going to be following your thread here, but wanted to say hello my fellow APP, I'm a 38 year old PA (13 years) following the same path after literally a whole career of hedging.
I'm retaking a lot of my old pre-reqs for both better grades (science GPA is 3.1 :bag:).
Good luck to you!

Reactions: 3 users
I'm not saying it's the right thing, but the easiest path would be to start studying full time for mcats in Fall '22, take them winter 23 (afterward a month of 100% studying with no other courses). Then pre write your personal statement and all secondary essays in Spring 23, Apply Summer 23 and start medschool fall 2024.
Remember you need service hours, and shadowing, maybe some research too ideally before you apply.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
it seems like you got all the pre-reqs down. not sure about whether to retake Comp 1 and 2, someone more experienced on that can comment i’m sure.