Number of publications during PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bd4727

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was having a discussion with a friend of mine this weekend, and we trying to come up with a ballpark estimate for how many first author publications is about average for a US Top 40 research university PhD student... anyone have any insight to this, or better have some data? Also, we were curious if this were different for MD/PhD's.

Obviously one Nature paper is different than two papers in PLoS One, and there are other confounding factors plus number alone doesn't matter, etc-- but does anyone have any data on what this number is?

Members don't see this ad.

I think this is extremely variable depending on your field, and possibly even on one's specific area of emphasis in that field. For example, I am an organic chemist. If an organic grad student is working solely on reaction methodology development (finding and optimizing new reactions) and is pretty successful (this can be luck, research group, and student dependent) that student may get multiple publications each year. If the same grad student is working on the total synthesis of a moderately complex natural product, he/she may be lucky to complete after 2-3 years (or more). In such a case, a PhD student may get one or two papers from that, and maybe one or two more from random side projects. A student doing physical organic chemistry may be somewhere in between. I don't really think one can quantify the typical number of publications because there is so much variability.

One further thing, I haven't seen any data on this but I don't think student publication count is very dependent on university ranking. I went to grad school at a place known more for football than academics and then was a postdoc at a "US top 40 research university." In my two experiences, I saw no difference in numbers of student papers.