Nursing student in need of honest advice/insight.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mapandterritory

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a nursing student. Although I do enjoy what I'm studying, it's not what I really love. My family is somewhat traditional, and I felt pressure to major in nursing instead. By no means am I suffering at all. I will not graduate in debt, and I have only about 1.5 years left of classes (so I figured that I might as well finish the program). To top it all off, I can expect a well-paying job once I pass the NCLEX (thanks to volunteering/connections), and I learned to have more of a "backbone" from my experiences so far.

Medical school has always been in the back of my mind, even though I never seriously considered it until now. I've heard of nurses who've gone back to medical school, but that isn't the only path I have in mind. I'm also very interested in the possibility of going for a PhD eventually. The funny thing is that I used to not like math/physical sciences very much, but I spent much of my free time over the past two years taking advantage of resources like MIT's OpenCourseWare, iTunes U, Khan Academy, and Open Culture.There could be things that those online lectures/texts missed, but I gained confidence from being able to change my mindset on things.:)

All of these tangents going off in my head leave me with a dilemma... What am I going to do? Would it make sense for me to just finish the remaining pre-requisites after I graduate so I can apply to med school shortly after? Should I go for another degree and see how things go from there?