Nursing student w/ med school aspirations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Indiana Erin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, first post! I'm a 22-year-old student currently one year away from completing an associate of science in nursing degree at a community college. Once I'm done I'll be able to take the RN boards.

I've enjoyed nursing school so far, but I'm finding myself more and more drawn to the world of medicine. I LOVED my pharmacology class and was one of the only people in the class to get an 'A.' After doing a lot of thinking, I've decided to try and pursue medical school as opposed to, say, becoming an advanced practice nurse.

The reason I don't just drop out of nursing school now and start taking pre-reqs for med school is because I have a family - a husband and a two-year-old son - and I need a career, even a temporary one. And I'm still really looking forward to working as an RN. Even if I do get into med school I plan on working as an RN throughout my studies... At the very least while I complete my pre-req undergrad classes.

Rather than complete a BSN program [bachelor's of science in nursing], I think I'm going to enroll in pharmaceutical science [BSPS] program at Purdue University. Purdue's website claims that it's a good program for students who want to matriculate into med school. I'd love to stay in Indiana and attend the IU School of Medicine, but we'll see.

Anyway... Does my plan make any sense at all? Should I even bother pursuing this goal? Do medical students have any preconceptions or prejudices about nurses applying to the program, or well my health care experience be an asset? I feel like I'm still young enough that this is worth a shot! :xf:

Members don't see this ad.