Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

nursing to DO

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by peripatetic, Nov 3, 1999.

1. peripatetic

peripatetic New Member

Greetings from AA michigan!
    I am a 2nd year undergrad thinking of transferring to Nursing.

To those experienced--is a nursing degree an asset to a DO application or a detraction...would if be better just to major in Bio or Psych or something instead?

thanks for your help

2. tonem

tonem Senior Member
    15+ Year Member

This is hearsay...but from what I have heard in the past...medical schools don't recognize the science courses required by the allied health professions as vigorous enough to meet the premed requirements. I think the benefit of nursing in an application to medical school is the extensive clinical experience and the intimate understanding of the good/bad of medicine. If you want to be a doctor you should stick to a science major if you enjoy science. If science isn't your favorite subject, major in something you are interested in and take the premed requisites on the side.

3. peripatetic

peripatetic New Member

in response: does this still apply if the chem/organic/physics/bio are done IN ADDITION to the Nursing curriculum??

thanks!

4. 8404

8404 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member