Nursing undergraduate to medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kLPantera

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently a nursing freshman student at Drexel University. I am wondering if anyone knows how to convert their quarter courses to semesters. Is it simply a year of a specific type I.E orgo chem, gen chem, bio, physics?

Also I am wondering if anyone may have some tips for me?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

For schools operating under the quarter system, you'll need to complete 3 quarters lecture + 3 quarters lab to be equivalent to 2 semesters lecture and 2 semesters lab. If you want to become a doctor, you need to change majors. Nursing is not a major that's favorable for admissions.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yeah,I just assumed she was switching majors but see now that she didn't specifically say that.

No one said I'm a she........................

Why is nursing "not" a favorable major for admission? A doctor I interned with said this, but he made it clear his view is biased.

My intention has always been medical school, I figured going to nursing school would be better for me because I have more interest in it than other "pre-med majors."

My decision to attend nursing school also acts like a safety net. If I am not accepted into medical school, then I can pursue becoming a nurse anesthetist. If that does not work, then I will pursue a higher degree in nursing.

No one said I'm a she.........................
You're a she, regardless. I'm kidding! Don't kill me.

The reason it's not looked at favorable is for the exact reason you're doing it: it's a backup degree. This wouldn't be a problem if you weren't taking a spot from someone that actually wants to be a nurse in a time when there's a health care crisis.

Actually I remember reading somewhere that like half of nurse anesthetists are men so theres a good chance OP is a guy.