Nutrition bachelors, thinking about healthcare career change? Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nutritionnerd

Reaction score
Hi all,

I graduated last year with a bachelors of nutrition/dietetics and worked as a health educator for 1 year for an insurance company at a hospital. I didn’t really enjoy the behind the computer work and I’ve always loved science (I loved my major, but decided an RD is not really worth the investment, and I think I would get bored of it quite fast)

Anyway, I’ve been looking into PA school but haven’t been exposed to much of the healthcare field at all. My boyfriend is in a post-bac to get into med school. I’ve thought about med school but I’m just still not sure if that much school is what I want.

I’m in a dilemma because I do love learning and school, I want to be challenged, and I want to practice lifestyle medicine (Whole Foods plant based diet, exercise interventions, etc) and I have already attended one of their conferences in 2016 and I am super passionate about it.

I’d love any suggestions on how to move forward. I feel stuck at 23 and just don’t know what to do. I’m also concerned if I choose to go to med school because I haven’t yet taken the MCAT or anything. Just not sure what my path is.

Members don't see this ad.

Why change , your career choice is terrible? Reexamine the reasons first and give a better reason than just science and learning and school. You can do all that in your current field.

Before you decide to jump into trying to get into medical school, PA or other life-altering decision it might be a good idea to delve into the lifestyle first as you've said you've not been exposed to much of what the healthcare field is yet.