NYMC students work too hard?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oldladypremed

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a westchester resident hoping to apply to med school next year. NYMC would be ideal as it is so close to my home and would prevent me from having to relocate my whole family (hubby, two kids, house etc...).

Anyway, my plan had been to apply their early decision. I have no illusions about my ability to get into a state school with lower tuition and I really don't care diddly about reputation. However, several people here have commented about how that school seems to work its students harder then other medical schools.

I'm not apposed to hard work by any means, but I do also have kids to take care of so I don't want to do any more work then medical school generally entails.

Can anyone explain why NYMC is considered "harder" then the other schools? Is it more hours in class? Harder tests? Something I haven't thought of yet?

Thanks all!

Members don't see this ad.

I think the only reason why NYMC may be considered harder than other schools is that they have more frequent exams. But I personally doubt it is much different in difficulty. I mean, no matter what allopathic school you attend, you take the same Boards after the pre-clinical years. My philosophy is that a good number of people would rather not go there, as they would rather go to a school in NYC or another city (as opposed to suburban Valhalla), so they almost convince themselves that NYMC seemed a lot harder than other schools. But I think the students seemed well balanced. They seemed to also have a higher number of students who were married (mostly to non-medical students) and/or had children, which would be good for you.