NYU vs Tufts vs Pittsburgh

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DentalMan123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I have been accepted to three schools: NYU, Tufts, and Pittsburgh
I am having a lot of trouble deciding and any feedback/help will sincerely be appreciated please :) I am also a NY resident (LI).
I know there are no rankings for dental schools, but how would you rank these schools?
Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I am having a lot of trouble deciding and any feedback/help will sincerely be appreciated please :) I am also a NY resident (LI).
I know there are no rankings for dental schools, but how would you rank these schools?
Thank you.

Very easy to rank. Top place goes to the school with least cost of attendance. Last place goes to school with most cost of attendance.

Does price really matter that much? I always hear that you should go where you will be happiest... go where you want to live for four years.... where you will have a good experience.... etc.

Members don't see this ad :)
It's tough to rank schools since no one has gone to dental school three times.

Make a spreadsheet and compare the schools. I can't speak for Tufts or Pitts.

Here are my reasons for choosing NYU:
-State of the art facilities.
-Formal departments for all the specialties and even implants.
-Dean Bertolmai is president of American Dental Education Association
-First Dental school to have Cariology Dept
-NYU is the forefront and leader of evidence based dentistry
-100% Part 1 Pass rate in 2010
-First dental school to incorporate Invisalign into curriculum
-Leaders in research (For example: Dr. Singh proved that cocaine addiction causes aberrations in the development of the brain case, the brain, the ear, the jaw. -Dr. Malamud is developing a device that uses oral fluid sample processing. It's user friendly and cost effective.
-Dr. Spielman discovered ASIC channels