NYU vs USC vs Michigan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2ne1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have posted this thread before and I still cannot decide!! Time is ticking, and I have less than two weeks to decide. I am waiting to hear back from Columbia after the interview, and I have Penn and UCLA interview coming up in January. Though I love the three schools I got into as of now, my top choices are the three schools that I haven't gotten into yet.
Cost is very important, but they seem to be around the same as I am a Cali resident. Michigan tuition is cheaper than NYU, and USC is about the same as NYU, still, the difference wont be HUGE.

I like the location of USC, as I will be close to my family, deposite is relatively cheap (500 dollars), in case I get into my top choice school later and alumni network is strong.
But PBL worries me, and I heard about not being able to get chairs.

NYU, I love to live in NY and I loved their facilities and progam. Their board passing rate was 100%, which impressed me. But I am worried about the living cost and weather.

Michigan, great program but their borad passing rate questions me and as an Asian, I would like to have easy access to Asian markets and food.

Currently, I am leaning to NYU because I like their curriculum and the huge patient pool. How would you describe/compare these schools?
I do not want to risk my acceptances to these schools by not paying the deposite and just wait for the other schools, and considering everything (cost>program>name..etc) which school would you want to go to?
Thanks for your input and good luck to all!

Members don't see this ad.

i'm not a dental student and i don't have much knowledge on NYU or USC - but as an alumni of michigan (ann arbor), i can tell you one thing -