General Admissions & OTCAS Occupational Therapy Advice & Admissions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChelseaLene

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm currently an undergrad in my first-year looking for advice on starting my journey to OT school!

Stats:
University - Ohio State
Major - Double major in Psychology & Spanish
Current GPA - 3.5 ish
Experience -
  • Volunteer at Hospital in the Children's Unit
  • Ronald McDonald House Volunteer
  • Project Sunshine (another volunteer club)
  • Autism Speaks (working with kids with Autism Spectrum Disorder)
  • Global Medical Brigades (volunteer, as well as a week-long medical service mission every year to Honduras, Panama, etc.)
I have about 100 volunteer hours right now in general volunteering, and I'm shadowing an OT over the summer. I have not taken any pre-requirements yet because originally I was a Biochemistry pre-med at the beginning of my freshman year. I am looking for advice on where I should be looking in terms of schools, as well as if my first-year GPA will look bad when I am applying? What should I raise my GPA to in order to become a more competitive applicant and do I have time to do it, as well as what would improve my application?
I am very new to this since I only switched a few months ago, but I would like to enter an OT program right after I graduate.

Thank you for all the help!

Members don't see this ad.

Additionally, I prefer to stay in-state and will be hoping to continue with occupational therapy at OSU. For prerequisites there, I have:
General Bio: A
Intermediate/Technical Writing: A

I think your stats look great! Just keep up with your GPA and diversifying your volunteer experience, you are on good track! :) I only say diversify the volunteer experience, so you have more to write about during application time.