#of schools incredibly high

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drago

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
as i mentioned, i got an 8/12/10/T on my MCAT and have a 3.88 GPA at a well known university. I am a CA resident, and although I have preferences, I am willing to go to ANY allopathic school in the U.S. Since this is very important to me, money and time ARE NOT issues. i have a list of about 48 schools to apply to. is it possible that schools will see this and look down on it? remember, i don't care where i go and there is no way in hell i want to apply again next year so i am applying to everywhere. please advise. thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

If AMCAS can be believed, schools don't see the list of med schools you have applied to. The real issue is how many secondaries you can possibly do and how many interviews you have the time and money to attend. I myself have applied to 30 AMCAS and 1 non-AMCAS school. Some cities or metro areas have several schools within them (like DC, with Georgetown and GWU), so I'm hoping I can schedule two interviews or so on one trip, if I'm chosen to be interviewed.

In your case, I would have to say that your GPA and MCAT are certainly competitive, and if you have the other stuff like research, volunteering, etc., I think you'll be fine. Perhaps you should consider paring your list of schools down a bit.

drago, I think you should probably not apply to 48 schools. I am not sure that the schools will look at it with disfavor, but you will be doing yourself a disfavor. I do not care how much you want to be an MD, 48 applications is crazy. Your GPA and MCAT are ok, and I know you said before you have extracurriculurs. As long as you submit your application early on (ASAP), you should be fine. I would try to cut my list down about 50-75% if I were you and go from there. Geesh.

Members don't see this ad :)