• Pharmacy Job Market Webinar

Are you considering applying to pharmacy school but are concerned about job prospects when you graduate? Join us on Wednesday, July 28th at 8 PM Eastern to hear from three PharmDs about their experiences and options outside of retail pharmacy.

MLN0128

2+ Year Member
Dec 6, 2014
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
Here we go~~ Let's get together to share information!

Vidared

7+ Year Member
Mar 23, 2011
Status (Visible)
I am a first year fellow and I think I would like to stay in academia at least for the foreseeable future after completing my fellowship. I'm a foreign medical graduate on a J1 visa and would like to have a contract signed by early 3rd year. I like the place I'm training at and the city and would be happy to stay on as faculty. I know they had hired their own fellows before but people from this year's graduating class of fellows who were considering staying have since found jobs elsewhere. I think its because have a new division director and have not hired anyone ever since he/she came on board. I've worked with the new director in clinic and made it obvious where my interests lie. At what point in my training should I have a conversation with them about a job offer? My current plan is to publish a paper, hopefully have my ASCO abstract accepted as poster this year and take point on a couple of IITs before I ask to be considered for a position here but I wasn't sure if that would be too late.

About the Ads

MLN0128

2+ Year Member
Dec 6, 2014
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
Any advice how to prepare for the academic job search, specifically for third year fellows?

gutonc

No Meat, No Treat
Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
15+ Year Member
Mar 6, 2005
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Any advice how to prepare for the academic job search, specifically for third year fellows?
Find a place you want to go.
Find out if they are recruiting in your area.