SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Official AMCAS 2003 Questions Page

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by JZZZZZZZs, May 12, 2002.

  1. JZZZZZZZs

    JZZZZZZZs Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    165
    0
    Jan 17, 2002
    Hey People,
    I just got sick and tired of searching and scrolling through the endless pages of information and questions for the AMCAS application. Just thought I'd streamline things so all relevant questions/answers can be found in one place...Hope it helps everyone!!!!! :)

    First, I'll start off by asking a question. :D
    1)Under post-secondary experiences, what end date does one indicate for volunteer/jobs that one's still currently involved with?
    2)And if the organization's contact person changes from year to year, who should we put down? Will AMCAS really go through all the trouble of checking our activities?

    Thanks again for everyone's input! <img border="0" alt="[Clappy]" title="" src="graemlins/clappy.gif" />
     
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. mpp

    mpp SDN Moderator Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

    3,398
    15
    Jan 17, 2001
    Portland, OR
    For the end-date, you can just put a guess at an end-date. Perhaps it will be August 2003 since you will be starting medical school by then. No one will specifically check that you are still there.

    AMCAS definitely does not check your references. I think very few schools would check but it is a possibility. Just put any supervisor that you know could vouch for the description of your activity.
     
  4. JZZZZZZZs

    JZZZZZZZs Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    165
    0
    Jan 17, 2002
    Thanks mpp. I will estimate an end date then. By the way, I got so excited about the prospect of this post that I originally forgot to mention this! :D I'm encouraging everyone with questions for the AMCAS 2003 application to post here! It'll make it easier for all of us applicants to locate an answer!!!! Cool?
     
  5. NUgirl

    NUgirl Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    406
    1
    Jan 18, 2002
    Chicago
    Hi, I know that the applications wont be processed till June 1st, but when is the first day that we can actually submit them?
     
  6. pwrpfgrl

    pwrpfgrl Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    351
    2
    Jan 3, 2002
    school
    I think that we won't be able to submit (certify and pay) until June 1st - and I've heard rumors that the date is now pushed back to June 8th.

    For the current activities, I was trying to put in Sept. 2003 (figure that's when I'd start med school) as my finish date, but the application wouldn't accept anything later than 12/2002. I know it's been down today, so maybe they're fixing that bug. :rolleyes:

    :)
     
  7. Kirk

    Kirk Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    258
    0
    Feb 20, 2001
    Kansas City
    I really think they should allow you to enter something like "currently employed/volunteering/etc" or somethign similar instead of having to put a definiate date. I also had to put 12/2002 on a couple of things that I currently participating in.
     
  8. JZZZZZZZs

    JZZZZZZZs Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    165
    0
    Jan 17, 2002
    Thanks guys/gals for posting here though I think everyone else ignored this thread. NUgirl, I think pwrpfgrl is right, the first day to submit the AMCAS application is 6/1 but I didn't hear about the date being pushed back. I guess everyone is experiencing technical problems today so I won't even attempt to do anything today.

    Another question...Do the Adcoms know if you've switched your majors around from looking at the OT?

    Thanks! :D
     
  9. pwrpfgrl

    pwrpfgrl Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    351
    2
    Jan 3, 2002
    school
    </font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Originally posted by JZZZZZZZs:
    <strong>
    Another question...Do the Adcoms know if you've switched your majors around from looking at the OT?

    Thanks! :D </strong></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">On my transcript, for every semester, it says what your designated major is. So, on mine, I started out as undeclared, so my first two semesters it says "Major:Undeclared" then when I switched to Bio, it changes to Bio, and later, when I added a second major, it is added in that section of my transcript. So, I don't know if this is the same for everybody or if it just depends on your school.

    :)
     
  10. lola

    lola Bovine Member 7+ Year Member

    3,849
    3
    Mar 22, 2002
    california
    Foreign coursework question:
    I posted this before but am still confused. I went abroad my junior year and received transfer credits at my home institution with no grades. I did not go through any sort of sponsored program -- just applied independently to the school abroad. I entered the info under the foreign school, because that's what it said to do on the application but am confused now. Nothing shows up for my U.S. institution junior year. Also, for my US institution 1 credit = 3 semester credits. I used this for my foreign institution, but it does not convert it to my U.S. institution's credits. Does this make any sense? Anyone else experiencing this? I think it said something on the application that under your foreign school it should say the name of the US institution where the credit is being transferred, but it doesn't.
     
  11. pwrpfgrl

    pwrpfgrl Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    351
    2
    Jan 3, 2002
    school
    Hi!
    I just tried to certify and submit my application (I figured what the heck, why not try?) and it says that we can't submit until June 5th. Hopefully that date won't be pushed back any further!
    :)
     
  12. JZZZZZZZs

    JZZZZZZZs Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    165
    0
    Jan 17, 2002
    pwrpfgrl,
    You are definitely on top of your game!!!! Good going. I'm still trying to finish up my personal statement in this beautiful SoCal weather. :cool: Thanks for answering my question! Lola, as for your situation, I'm sorry if I can't be of any help. I don't know anything about transfer credit, study abroad...etc. :( I hope someone here sees your question and can answer it for you so I'm doing my part by bumping this thread up!!!!! HEY, someone help out by answering Lola's question!!!!!
    :D
     
  13. JZZZZZZZs

    JZZZZZZZs Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    165
    0
    Jan 17, 2002
    By the way, I just thought of another question...If I took a junior college class during high school and then withdrew from it, do I have to include that on the AMCAS application? It's on my OT from that JC since I took another summer school class from there. And how does that figure into the overall GPA?
    :rolleyes:
     
  14. u2ecila

    u2ecila Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    118
    0
    Jul 11, 2001
    VA area
    Ok, I am still working on the course section, and I have a couple questions!

    1. How are you guys doing AP courses? Right now I added them under the first semester freshman year.

    2. Can I include advanced kinesiology courses under biology, like motor development and learning? We went into a lot of detail on biology from the human brain to the development of the embryo.

    3. Technical question - everytime I enter a new semester, the AMCAS makes me describe the grade level again (A,B,C,D,F, etc). But sometimes it doesn't. Is this happening to anyone else?

    4. What do I do if a grade (S for satisfactory) does not have an AMCAS translation?

    Thanks! I figure at this rate, I should be finished in time for the 2004 application!
    :rolleyes:

    u2ecila
     
  15. lola

    lola Bovine Member 7+ Year Member

    3,849
    3
    Mar 22, 2002
    california
    u2ecila,
    To answer some of your questions:
    1. don't know b/c didn't take AP exams
    2. kinesiology can be counted as BCMP if it really had a lot of biology. i'd enter it as BCMP. if amcas disagrees, they'll change it for you.
    3. hmm... i don't remember anything funny happening to me.
    4. enter the s -- amcas should convert it to a pass if they have info from your school. if they don't have the proper info i assume they will look it up. any grading system that's binary will be converted to pass/fail.

    JZZZZZZZs,
    technically i think you're supposed to list all courses from any u.s. or canadian school no matter when you took them. it is my understanding that a withdrawal won't affect your gpa. they probably won't care much about it if it wasn't a premed class. if it was, i doubt they would care too much unless they have reason to doubt your abilities.
     
  16. Sweet Tea

    Sweet Tea Girl Next Door Physician 10+ Year Member

    Great thread idea!! I've got some questions...

    I took a EMT class through a community college while I was enrolled at my undergrad school. Do I have to get an OT from the community college even if I didn't use the class there for credit towards my degree?

    Has anyone been able to put in dates later than 12/2002 for their jobs/volunteer experiences? I have this vision of ADCOMS reviewing my application and wondering why I stopped everything in December...

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!! :)
     
  17. mpp

    mpp SDN Moderator Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

    3,398
    15
    Jan 17, 2001
    Portland, OR
    Yes, you are required to send in a transcript from all post-secondary institutions you have attended regardless of whether you received credit.
     
  18. lola

    lola Bovine Member 7+ Year Member

    3,849
    3
    Mar 22, 2002
    california
    curlyMD,
    nope, haven't been able to enter a date later than 12/02. has anyone tried calling amcas about this? i am going to have to call eventually so will ask about this if i remember.
     
  19. lady bug

    lady bug 7+ Year Member

    578
    1
    Jan 3, 2002
    For the personal statement, is the 5300 characters limit including the spaces, or is it just the the limits without the spaces? When I do "word count" in Microsoft Word, it gives me various counts.
     
  20. mpp

    mpp SDN Moderator Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

    3,398
    15
    Jan 17, 2001
    Portland, OR
    The 5,300 characters includes spaces.
     
  21. JZZZZZZZs

    JZZZZZZZs Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    165
    0
    Jan 17, 2002
    Great, now we have some dialogue going!! :)

    Was anyone else confused about the calendar semester (w/ all the numbers e.g.4-1-4/4-4-1) versus the S1 semester in the term classification? What's the difference between the two? Do you guys know what I'm talking about? :confused:

    u2ecila,
    What grades would you put down for your AP courses since they are only transferred credits?
     
  22. lola

    lola Bovine Member 7+ Year Member

    3,849
    3
    Mar 22, 2002
    california
    regular semesters are s1, s2 --&gt; fall, spring

    the 4-1-4, 4-4-1 thing is for summer school or academic year courses i believe.

    my school was on the semester system so i used s1 s2. i went abroad and had academic year courses, so used that category for that year.
     
  23. STi555

    STi555 Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    188
    0
    May 4, 2002
    In fact your character count will be a couple higher for AMCAS than Word because AMCAS counts a new paragraph as 2 characters.
     
  24. JZZZZZZZs

    JZZZZZZZs Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    165
    0
    Jan 17, 2002
    u2ecila,
    I would definitely include Advanced Kinesiology under biology if you did well in the class since then it will be figured into the all-important BCPM GPA. If you didn't do well, I would leave it out so as not to hurt your BCPM GPA but this question brings up an interesting point though.
    Do you guys know if these course classifications are left to our own discretion or will the AMCAS people verify the information with each school??? For me, I didn't do so well in some upper division Microbiology classes and I classified them as Health Sciences instead of Biology. Is this "legal?" <img border="0" title="" alt="[Wink]" src="wink.gif" /> Or will the AMCAS people just change it later?
     
  25. lola

    lola Bovine Member 7+ Year Member

    3,849
    3
    Mar 22, 2002
    california
    i think amcas can change them --- and i think they would for something like microbiology which is obviously a bcmp course. no offense, but i think it's important to be honest. otherwise you're not just helping yourself, you're hurting all the honest people out there.
     
  26. JZZZZZZZs

    JZZZZZZZs Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    165
    0
    Jan 17, 2002
    Lola,
    This might sound really stupid but what exactly is an academic year course? I'm still confused.
     
  27. lola

    lola Bovine Member 7+ Year Member

    3,849
    3
    Mar 22, 2002
    california
    it's not a stupid question... i don't think many schools offer them, so that's why it would be confusing. for example, my general chemistry class is not academic year (even though it was 1 year in duration) b/c it was broken up into 2 semesters -- you didn't have to take the course all in one year. you could have taken the second semester during the second semester of the following year.

    my academic year courses were in england. they met throughout the year, and i only received a grade in the spring. i took about 8 courses all year long.

    it seems unlikely you have academic year courses at a U.S. institution, but i can't say for sure.
     
  28. u2ecila

    u2ecila Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    118
    0
    Jul 11, 2001
    VA area
    Hi fellow 2003ers,
    I am going to change the Kinesiology classes to biology! Woohoo! Got A's in those, so that will help. :)

    JZZZZZZZs - my transcript listed a P for pass on both of my AP credits, so that is what I put down. I need to double check if AMCAS counted the credits I earned or not.

    Ok, I am trying to log in now, and its not working.

    Is anyone else having trouble logging in today??? AMCAS does not recognize my login/password combinatinon! Grrrr.

    :rolleyes:
    u2ecila
     
  29. pwrpfgrl

    pwrpfgrl Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    351
    2
    Jan 3, 2002
    school
    I put AP courses as first semester freshman year (that's when they're credited on my transcript). I did just notice that the credits I got for them aren't added in with the other AMCAS credits :( I don't know what happened! I'm not sure if this is a bug of if they do it on purpose (maybe it will be fixed when AMCAS verifies my transcript?).

    I'm not positive, but I think the deal with the 4-1-4 and the 4-4-1 is when you have two full semesters and one "short" semester. Like you have a full fall, then a short "winter" and a full spring semester. During the short semesters you only take maybe one or two classes (I vaguely remember hearing about schools that had this system when I was applying to colleges - maybe I'll ask my little brother who's applying now!).

    I didn't have that wierd problem with having to put the grading system in each time - maybe try going back to the first page and re-entering it then? (just a thought - I have no idea if it will work).

    I put S's down - hey, it's what's on my transcript!!

    :)
     
  30. lola

    lola Bovine Member 7+ Year Member

    3,849
    3
    Mar 22, 2002
    california
    oh wait, now that i go back and look at it, i have the full year course thing wrong. there is a full year option for every type of system. now i'm not sure how my full year abroad courses should be listed. i think i'll change them to semester rather than the 4-4-1 thing. that is definitey not right for my situation.
     
  31. Sweet Tea

    Sweet Tea Girl Next Door Physician 10+ Year Member

    Another question... I was involved in one campus organization for all 4 years of undergrad, but had different offices (freshman rep, president) every year. Do I list each office seperately in the post-secondary opportunities, or should I lump everything into one entry b/c it was through the same organization?

    Thanks to those who helped on my first questions... :)
     
  32. mpp

    mpp SDN Moderator Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

    3,398
    15
    Jan 17, 2001
    Portland, OR
    You should probably list it as one item and then in the description discuss your different roles.
     
  33. u2ecila

    u2ecila Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    118
    0
    Jul 11, 2001
    VA area
    I still can't log on! Am I the only one?

    Everytime I try get in, I get an Invalid Logon/Password error!

    :(

    alicat
     
  34. Sweet Tea

    Sweet Tea Girl Next Door Physician 10+ Year Member

    thanks, mpp! i think i'm going to break it into 2 sections (elected officer and appointed positions).

    u2ecila-- what browser are you using? i had no luck getting in with netscape, but had no problems with unternet explorer. good luck!!
     
  35. Sweet Tea

    Sweet Tea Girl Next Door Physician 10+ Year Member

    oops. spelling goof on my part. Internet, not Uternet explorer. but you probably figured that out...

    hi, my name iz curlie, and eye want two be a doktur...
     
  36. u2ecila

    u2ecila Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    118
    0
    Jul 11, 2001
    VA area
    Hi Curly -
    I am using IE 5.5! Rebooted my machine, and still no luck. I can't use the Netscape browser because the version is too low.

    Hmmm. Not cool, but I will try again at home.
    thanks!
    u2ecila
     
  37. Shera

    Shera Junior Member

    9
    0
    May 9, 2002
    Iowa
    Does anyone know where to put CLEP credit? I took the natural and social sciences exams at my university, but it was in the summer before freshman year so I wasn't a registered student at the time. On my OT it just shows up with the date, not in any semester.Thanks!
     
  38. u2ecila

    u2ecila Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    118
    0
    Jul 11, 2001
    VA area
    Ok, I admit it - I am a little slow!

    I wrote down the wrong log-in ID, so now I am in the system. Woohoo!

    :rolleyes:
    u2ecila
     
  39. STi555

    STi555 Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    188
    0
    May 4, 2002
    I was wondering for people that haven't finished college yet and are going to be taking classes next year, do we list the classes we are planning on taking and check future?
     
  40. mpp

    mpp SDN Moderator Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

    3,398
    15
    Jan 17, 2001
    Portland, OR
    Yes, list the classes you are planning to take to finish your degree.
     
  41. lola

    lola Bovine Member 7+ Year Member

    3,849
    3
    Mar 22, 2002
    california
    can future coursework be changed on amcas? for example, i need to take an english class but am not certain where/when i'm going to take it. can i put down fall 2002 at the community college and then change my mind later?
     
  42. mpp

    mpp SDN Moderator Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

    3,398
    15
    Jan 17, 2001
    Portland, OR
    Put down the most likely location for taking the class. It's probably not worth it to change the AMCAS later. I don't think the schools will hold you to a particular school for a class as long as all the pre-requisites are completed and you receive your degree prior to matriculation.
     
  43. randomlogik

    randomlogik Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    339
    4
    Apr 22, 2002
    Texas
    </font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Originally posted by Shera:
    <strong>Does anyone know where to put CLEP credit? I took the natural and social sciences exams at my university, but it was in the summer before freshman year so I wasn't a registered student at the time. On my OT it just shows up with the date, not in any semester.Thanks!</strong></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">I just put mine as the summer semester before my freshman year. Also, I think you are supposed to designated it under the same category as AP credit.
     
  44. RLMD

    RLMD blah 7+ Year Member

    262
    0
    Apr 22, 2002
    I had a question about the course name and course number thing. For a class like chemistry, would the course name be "Introductory Chemistry w/ Lab" or "CHEM 121"? and for the course number, would it be "CHEM 121" or just "121"?
     
  45. mpp

    mpp SDN Moderator Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

    3,398
    15
    Jan 17, 2001
    Portland, OR
    Since you are already choosing Chemistry, just put the course number "121" for Course Number. For the course name, write exactly as it appears on your transcripts. The people at AMCAS (not the brighest bunch) need to verify your application by comparing your transcripts to what you have typed into the application. Make it as easy as possible by typing exactly what appears on your transcripts.
     
  46. mpp

    mpp SDN Moderator Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

    3,398
    15
    Jan 17, 2001
    Portland, OR
    If you've already typed in all the course numbers as Chem 121, etc., don't bother fixing it. I think either way will be fine. Just be sure the course names are the same as on your transcripts.
     
  47. Sweet Tea

    Sweet Tea Girl Next Door Physician 10+ Year Member

    should we use the abbreviations on the transcript or spell the course names out fully? i've got some weird abbreviations on my transcript... i.e., i thought i took intro to stat, but apparently it's BA CPT STAT/DA ANAL

    go figure. i just took the courses they told me to take.
     
  48. RLMD

    RLMD blah 7+ Year Member

    262
    0
    Apr 22, 2002
    I suggest that everyone look at the instruction book on the amcas website before deciding how to classify their courses on the transcript. I am a kinesiology major, and not all of my upper level classes are biology related, nor are all of them health science courses. You have to look at the primary content of each individual course before you decide where to include it.
     
  49. STi555

    STi555 Senior Member 7+ Year Member

    188
    0
    May 4, 2002
    I was wondering do I have to wait for my grades to come in for this quarter before sending in my transcript? I am taking my last quarter of organic this quarter so I assumed that I would have to wait. Is this correct?
     
  50. randomlogik

    randomlogik Senior Member 10+ Year Member

    339
    4
    Apr 22, 2002
    Texas
    I am definately going to wait before sending in my transcript. I want the schools to be able to see the most up to date grades as possible.
    Now if only i can get an A in biochemistry...i think i just bombed the final today :( *praying for large curve*
     
  51. conure

    conure Master Distiller 7+ Year Member

    227
    2
    Apr 28, 2002
    West
    Hey, good discussion going here (finally). Are you all using the transcript request form that AMCAS provides?

    I was going to use it in conjunction with the schools form but I noticed something odd on the AMCAS request.

    There are two different AMCAS addresses for the transcript to be forwarded to. I printed a request for one OT and I get an AMCAS address of M st. in DC.

    If I print it out requesting an OT for AMCAS and one for me, I get an different street number and on N st. in DC.

    I know this sounds very odd but with transcripts getting lost regularly I want to be sure it gets forwarded to the right place.

    Any thoughts?
     

Share This Page